winter reading

I read a lot of mediocre books this winter.  These are some of the good ones:

“Await Your Reply” by Dan Chaon.  Normally I don’t like novels that are too current.  For some reason, I get weirded out when a novel even mentions email.  This one is about online identity theft, but that’s just the surface.  It has a sparseness that takes it out of the present and makes it feel like a three-dimensional Hitchcock movie.

“Gossip of the Starlings” by Nina deGramont, a novel about boarding school and cocaine set in the ‘80s.  There are some gems of universality hidden behind the anorexic blonde on the cover.

“Stiff: the curious lives of human cadavers” by Mary Roach made me want to donate my body to science.  I have an irrepressible habit of reading while I’m doing other things, especially while cooking and eating.  My meals were much less palatable the week I was reading this book, but I didn’t want to put it down.

“Denali: a literary anthology”.  A collection of Native legends, stories about the mountain, and accounts of early expeditions to Denali (Mt. McKinley).  I picked this up after a short visit to the Denali region this winter and immediately began dreaming of a summertime visit.

One of the best things I read this winter was actually an essay in the Patagonia winter catalog, “Bread crumbs in the dark” by Katie Ives.  The style and voice are a perfect echo of what I would want to write.

One thought on “winter reading

  1. Josh

    I’m the same way when it comes to email. It’s even worse when a book or a tv show mentions facebook, or twitter, or anything like that. I’m not sure why that is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

