“miracles do not happen by accident”

At this moment, the full promise of stem cell research remains unknown, and it should not be overstated.  But scientists believe these tiny cells may have the potential to help us understand, and possibly cure, some of our most devastating diseases and conditions….

But that potential will not reveal itself on its own.  Medical miracles do not happen simply by accident.  They result from painstaking and costly research – from years of lonely trial and error, much of which never bears fruit – and from a government willing to support that work.

I just read the President’s speech upon signing the executive order to allow stem-cell research funding, and it made me so happy.  He said exactly what I’ve been wanting a president to say on the matter.  Before today, I knew that President Obama would overturn the ban and I was glad, but I couldn’t be overjoyed because I do think that embryonic stem cells can be a grey area and demand caution and respect.  His speech was spot-on, capturing perfectly the balance between respect, caution, and hope, without alienating or over-emotionalizing.  His remarks on the nature of scientific research were also extremely intelligent.  I don’t have a TV, but I bet his delivery was even more impressive.  Nevertheless, if you missed all or part of it, I highly recommend reading the President’s full speech.

Leave a Reply

