my foundation is hope

There was no alt-text until you moused over.

That’s my favorite comic from xkcd.  I think it’s hilarious.  I just wanted to have something funny at the top of the page.

I was pretty into philosophy during my first couple years of college.  At my secular college before I transferred to Wheaton, I found that many of the people in the philosophy department, both students and professors, were studying philosophy because they were atheists and wanted to disprove the existence of God.  Many of them were very passionate and outspoken about it, but they were also bitter and cynical.

This made me more determined to study philosophy there, because as a strong Christian I felt God needed me in the philosophy department.  At the same time, I found it incredibly sad that so many people would dedicate their academic career, and some their life’s work, to disproving something that they didn’t believe in, instead of working for something that they do believe in.

I now understand them a little better, and I understand that it is about working for reason and truth, not just working against God.  But I still don’t want to be like that.  I still find it a little sad.  I want to always spend more time on things that I am passionate about, in a positive way, than on things that I don’t believe in.  I want to focus positively on the person that I am and the things that I love.  I want to work towards a positive vision of what I want in the world.  I do think that it’s important to fight for reason and truth, and I know that working for something often means working against something else.  But I don’t want to get mired in negativity, sarcasm, and cynicism.  I don’t want bitterness to form the foundation of anything in my life.  I want my foundation to be hope.

I don’t want to be just another atheist blog where people debate the existence of god, although that is the surest way of getting a lot of blog readers.  I want to share who I am and what being an atheist means to me.

2 thoughts on “my foundation is hope

  1. tuffy

    That is precisely why I enjoy reading your blogs. No offense to a lot of the people who comment, or have atheist blogs, but they aren’t that interesting to me. It seems, like most Christian blogs, they are typically much more about an agenda than simply thinking and dialoguing.

    Yours is refreshing.

    Much love,

    tuf

    Reply

Leave a Reply

