savoring the night

Winter is hitting hard this week.  The weather is heinous and I haven’t had a glimpse of the sun in days.  It feels like the middle of the night now when I wake up and go to work in the 9am pitch dark, groggy and discombobulated.  The sun rises in the late morning and sets at the end of my lunch hour.  Last week I enjoyed watching the lunch-hour sunsets, but this week it’s just annoying.  Last week I was celebrating winter and feeling on top of the world.  This week everyone around me is grumpy, and I’m so tired my eyes can’t even stay focused for ten minutes at a time.  My fine motor skills take half the day to kick in, and I’ve been so clumsy, it’s only because of grammar- and spell-check that I can crank out a decent sentence at all.

Thank axial tilt, the solstice is coming.

In a way, though, I’m savoring this side of winter.  Even the tiredness, the feeling of being a bear who’s been woken too early from hibernation– there is something to savor there.  At the least, because these tired, cold, dark days are part of life.  At the most, I’m taking in the night in all its fullness because I know I will long for its refuge during next summer’s endless days.

I taught third-graders about the difference between cold-blooded and warm-blooded animals today.  I was thinking that I feel very warm-blooded this week.  All my warmth and light has to come from within.  There are a few sparks in the midst of the cold, dark days.

One thought on “savoring the night

  1. Mr Pants

    Yikes! I don’t think I could take only an hour of sunlight per day. That’s fascinating that it affects your motor skills negatively though, I thought it would mainly be psychological effects. Anyway, hang in there, it’ll be summer before you know it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

